Staff Directory

Media inquiries

For our best and fastest response, we suggest you contact or include our Chief Communications Officer, Steven Profaizer. He will help connect you with the most relevant scientists not currently working in the field.

Senior Research Scientists

Deborah Bronk

President and CEO
Senior Research Scientist
ext. 115 | dbronk@bigelow.org

Benjamin Twining

Senior Research Scientist
Henry L. and Grace Doherty Vice President for Education

Beth Orcutt

Senior Research Scientist
Interim Vice President for Research
ext. 312 | borcutt@bigelow.org

Christoph Aeppli

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 317 | caeppli@bigelow.org

Steve Archer

Senior Research Scientist
Bigelow Analytical Services Director
ext. 314 | sarcher@bigelow.org

Barney Balch

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 301 | bbalch@bigelow.org

John Burns

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 304 | jburns@bigelow.org

Peter Countway

Senior Research Scientist

David Emerson

Senior Research Scientist

José A. Fernández Robledo

Senior Research Scientist

David Fields

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 313 | dfields@bigelow.org

Maya Groner

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 319 | mgroner@bigelow.org

Manoj Kamalanathan

Senior Research Scientist

Michael Lomas

Senior Research Scientist
NCMA and CAI Director
ext. 311 | mlomas@bigelow.org

Joaquín Martínez Martínez

Senior Research Scientist

Catherine Mitchell

Senior Research Scientist

Nicole Poulton

Senior Research Scientist
Center for Aquatic Cytometry Director

Nichole Price

Senior Research Scientist
Center for Seafood Solutions Director
ext. 306 | nprice@bigelow.org

Doug Rasher

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 318 | drasher@bigelow.org

Nick Record

Senior Research Scientist
Tandy Center for Ocean Forecasting Director
ext. 316 | nrecord@bigelow.org

Rachel Sipler

Senior Research Scientist
Center for Water Health and Humans Director
ext. 310 | rsipler@bigelow.org

Ramunas Stepanauskas

Senior Research Scientist
Single Cell Genomics Center Director

Research Scientists

Julia Brown

Research Scientist
ext. 521 | julia@bigelow.org

Alex Michaud

Research Scientist

Karen Stamieszkin

Research Scientist

LeAnn Whitney

Research Scientist

Postdoctoral Scientists

Benedikt Blossom

Postdoctoral Scientist

Hannah Blossom

Postdoctoral Scientist

Anne Booker

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 410 | abooker@bigelow.org

Tianyi Chang

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 405 | tchang@bigelow.org

Dave Ernst

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 406 | dernst@bigelow.org

Athanasios Foukis

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 413 | afoukis@bigelow.org

Baptiste Genot

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 412 | bgenot@bigelow.org

Melody Lindsay

Postdoctoral Scientist

Jacob Munson-McGee

Postdoctoral Scientist

Rebekah Shunmugapandi

Postdoctoral Scientist

Robin Sleith

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 417 | rsleith@bigelow.org

Laura Sofen

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 416 | lsofen@bigelow.org

Brianna Stanley

Postdoctoral Scientist

Reyn Yoshioka

Postdoctoral Scientist

Visiting PhD Students

Alex Ascher

PhD Student

Shane Farrell

PhD Student

Sydney Greenlee

PhD Student

Kyle Oliveira

PhD Student

Camille Ross

Research Technician
PhD Student
ext. 514 | cross@bigelow.org

Samuel Tan

PhD Student

Dara Yiu

PhD Student

Science Staff

Erin Beirne

Research Associate
ext. 510 | ebeirne@bigelow.org

Sean Boyd

Senior Research Associate
ext. 208 | sboyd@bigelow.org

Craig Burnell

Research Associate

Carmen Cartisano

Research Associate

Peter Craig

Research Technician
ext. 502 | pcraig@bigelow.org

Tim D'Angelo

Senior Research Associate

David Drapeau

Senior Research Associate

Johnathan Evanilla

Research Technician

Gregory Gavelis

Bioinformatician

Kristin Heidenreich

Associate Curator

Brittney Honisch

Research Associate

Mark Hurd

Associate Curator
ext. 205 | mhurd@bigelow.org

Gabriella Iacono

Research Technician
ext. 528 | giacono@bigelow.org

Debra Lomas

Senior Research Associate
ext. 518 | dlomas@bigelow.org

Laura Lubelczyk

Research Associate

Corianna Mascena

Research Associate

Maura Niemisto

Research Associate

Vishaan Nursey

Research Technician
ext. 531 | vnursey@bigelow.org

Sunny Pinkham

Research Associate

Kevin Posman

Senior Research Associate
ext. 507 | kposman@bigelow.org

Mike Preston

Senior Research Associate

Camille Ross

Research Technician
PhD Student
ext. 514 | cross@bigelow.org

Rachele Spadafore

Research Technician

Hannah Sterling

Research Technician

Brian Thompson

Senior Research Associate

Ben Tupper

Senior Research Associate
ext. 524 | btupper@bigelow.org

Jay Wheeler

Senior Research Associate
Safety Officer

Sara Woodruff

Research Technician

Administration

Joe Ambrosino

Desktop Support Specialist

Cindy Bailey

Senior Accountant & Assistant Controller
ext. 121 | cbailey@bigelow.org

Christian Bassett

Facilities Assistant

Roxana Branch

Education Coordinator
ext. 104 | rbranch@bigelow.org

Laurie Curtis

Steward

Jennifer Cutshall

Vice President for Strategic Alliances and Advancement

Jason Grundy

Grants Financial Analyst

Kevin Guay

Director of IT

Jessica Hoffmann

Advancement Assistant

Jake Jacobs

Director of Facilities
ext. 105 | jjacobs@bigelow.org

Abby Jones

Administrative Assistant
ext. 100 | ajones@bigelow.org

Kim Knowlton

Events Steward

Paty Matrai

Senior Research Scientist Emerita
Interim Technology Transfer Officer
ext. 305 | pmatrai@bigelow.org

Margaret McDiarmid

Director of Human Resources

John McKown

Grants Manager
ext. 110 | jmckown@bigelow.org

Steven Profaizer

Chief Communications Officer

Charlotte Quigley

Assistant Director Center for Seafood Solutions

Rimar Reed

Office Manager National Center for Marine Algae and Microbiota
ext. 202 | rreed@bigelow.org

Valerie Reny

Accounts Payable Coordinator
ext. 122 | vreny@bigelow.org

Chris Salatino

Assistant Director of Facilities

Robert Schmedicke

Managing Director of Technology Development

Elena Shippey

Project Administrator Coast-Cow-Consumer

Rosalynn Sylvan

Managing Director COBRA

Michael Vilarello

Philanthropy Officer

Chris Vooght

Accountant
ext. 114 | cvooght@bigelow.org

David Whitt

Chief Financial Officer
Vice President for Administration
ext. 101 | dwhitt@bigelow.org

Dana Wilson

Advancement Grants and Operations Manager
ext. 112 | dwilson@bigelow.org

Valerie Young

Chief of Staff
ext. 107 | vyoung@bigelow.org

Scientists Emeriti

Robert Andersen

SRS Emeritus
CCMP Director

Peter Larsen

SRS Emeritus

Clarice Yentsch

Bigelow Laboratory Co-founder
SRS Emerita

Adjunct Scientists

Steven Baer

Maine Maritime Academy  

Mattias Cape

University of Washington  

Stephanie Carr

Hartwick College  

Rosemary Dorrington

Rhodes University  

Jelena Godrijan

Ruđer Bošković Institute  

Jacqueline Goordial

University of Guelph  

Paty Matrai

 

Linas Mazutis

Vilnius University  

Jim McManus

National Science Foundation  

Aurora M. Ricart

Institute of Marine Sciences of the Spanish National Research Council  

Katherine Richardson

University of Copenhagen  

Robert Spencer

Florida State University  

Gerrit van den Engh

 

Ken Voss

University of Miami  

Meredith White

Mook Sea Farm  

Tanja Woyke

DOE Joint Genome Institute